Speak Out

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  –  Mahatma Gandhi

By far, the most important thing you can do is make your voice heard. Our elected and appointed officials are supposed to listen to you.  They work for you; not for wind energy companies, not for support industries, and certainly not for their own business interests.

You can also use the contact information below to let our government officials know where you stand. If you don’t speak for yourself, the wind industry will.

Sen. Rod Whittemore and Rep. Larry Dunphy are the state legislators for the Senate and House districts that include the region of interest to Friends of the Highland Mountains.

Sen. Rodney L. Whittemore
PO Box 96
Skowhegan, ME 04976
(207) 474-6703

Rep. Larry Dunphy
PO Box 331
North Anson, ME 04958
(207) 635-2831


Phil Roy
Somerset County Commissioner – District 1

Bob Dunphy
Somerset County Commissioner – District 2

Dean Cray
Somerset County Commissioner – District 3

Newell Graf
Somerset County Commissioner – District 4

Lloyd Trafton
Somerset County Commissioner – District 5 (Includes all Somerset County townships and plantations)

The following key legislators need to hear your opinion on Maine’s lack of reasonable standards for the siting of industrial wind turbine developments. Following the list of key legislators is information on contacting your own senator or representative.

Rep. Mark W. Eves
Maine Speaker of the House

Room 303, State House
2 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0002

Rep. Jeff McCabe
Maine House Majority Leader
13 Olive St.
Skowhegan, ME 04976
(207) 399-3185

Rep. Sara Gideon
Maine Asst. House Majority Leader
37 South Freeport Rd. 
Freeport, ME 04032
(207) 865-9593

Rep. Kenneth W. Fredette
Maine House Minority Leader
PO Box 70
Newport, ME 04953
(207) 368-5562

Rep. Ellie Espling
Maine Asst. House Minority Leader

12 Lewiston Rd.
New Gloucester, ME 04260
(207) 891-8280

Sen. Michael Thibodeau
Senate President

169 Coles Corner Rd.
Winterport, ME 04496
(207) 223-5177

Sen. Garrett Mason
Maine Senate Majority Leader

PO Box 395
Lisbon Falls, ME 04252
(207) 577-1521

Sen. Andre Cushing
Maine Senate Asst. Majority Leader
PO Box 211
Hampden, ME 04444
(207) 358-9447

Sen. Justin Alfond
Maine Senate Minority Leader
143 Vaughan St.
Portland, ME 04102
(207) 232-4187


Sen. Dawn Hill
Asst. Senate Minority Leader
PO Box 701
Cape Neddick, ME 03902
(207) 337-3689

Use the following links to find contact information for your Maine Representative and Senator.

Click here to find your Maine legislators listed by town.

Click here to find your Maine legislators listed in alphabetical order.

Click here to find your Maine Representative by House district.

Click here to find your Maine Senator by Senate district.

While our legislators in Washington D.C. do not make zoning and land use decisions on the state level in Maine, they do need to know, and should be concerned, when their constituents are troubled by what they see happening in their state. Contact our Washington D.C. delegation and let them know your thoughts.

Sen. Susan Collins
413 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
(207) 622-8414   Maine
(202) 224-2523   Wash. D.C.
Email Sen. Collins

Sen. Angus King
188 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
(207) 622-8292   Maine
(202) 224-5344   Wash. D.C.
Email Sen. King

Rep. Bruce Poloquin
6 State Street
Bangor, ME 04401
(207) 942-0583
(202) 225-6306   Wash. D.C.
Email Rep. Poloquin

Rep. Chellie Pingree
57 Exchange Street, Suite 302
Portland, ME 04101
(207) 774-5019
(202) 225-6116   Wash. D.C.
Email Rep. Pingree

Don’t forget to write to Governor LePage and his Energy Office Director, Patrick Woodcock. It’s important that they know the energy issues that are important to you.

Gov. Paul LePage
Office of the Governor
#1 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0001
(207) 287-3531


Patrick Woodcock, Director
Governor’s Energy Office
62 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0062
(207) 624-7405


Contact the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife and ask them to give greater scrutiny to wind developments with regard to wildlife impacts, especially cumulative impacts.

Commissioner Chandler E. Woodcock
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
41 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0041
(207) 287-8000


Contact the Maine Department of Environmental Protection and ask for greater consideration of the concerns of Maine citizens, especially those who will have to live with industrial wind projects in their communities.

Commissioner Patricia Aho
Maine Department Of Environmental Protection
17 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0017

(207) 287-2812